Weekly Response Five

The topic of conversation that interested me most in class this week was in relation to that of English language learners in the classroom ( I also enjoying learning about the various awards for Latino literature)! Having the opportunity to be born in the United States, it’s hard to imagine all the languages spoken in the world.

“It’s estimated that up to 7,000 different languages are spoken around the world. 90% of these languages are used by less than 100,000 people. Over a million people converse in 150-200 languages and 46 languages have just a single speaker!”

“One quarter of the world’s languages are spoken by fewer than 1,000 people and if these are not passed down to the next generation, they will be gone forever.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/guide/languages.shtml

I was quite sad upon learning the amount of languages spoken around the world, I didn’t have a chance to learn a second language until high school. What saddens me most is that when reaching high school, I didn’t have a choice about the second language I would learn. I am a double major at the University of Northern Iowa, if I am given the opportunity to work with young students, I will incorporate many different languages into my classroom. I am a huge fan of the Magic Tree House series, it is my goal to take students on a trip through how I choose to decorate my classroom. I want my students to learn about all cultures around the world, not just the ones in my classroom. If students are not well educated about culture, how are they supposed to accept culture? I want students to experience what the Hispanic population refers to as educacion, not just the United States version of education.

An idea for a Magic Tree House Themed Classroom!

Magic Tree House Themed Classroom

Leave a Reply

